Refer to individual state websites for the relevant membership category and fee.

The certification process varies from state to state. Please check with your state association if you are unsure.

All coaches must hold a current Provide First Aid (HLTAID003) qualification.

This is a free, online course provided by Sports Australia. It contains four modules, including assessment, and takes around four hours to complete. It must be completed every four years.

To do the course, first register here:

› Sport Australia Community Coaching General Principles course

Each coaching level requires the following number of annual coaching hours to remain current.

Level 0 0
Level 1 0
Level 2 10
Level 3 20

The AFF has a prescribed list of Continual Learning Activities (CLAs). The list of CLAs is located in the portal. For 2019/2020 the AFF has a list of 23 CLAs. Level 2 and Level 3 must be able to declare that they have met at least 5 of the 23 possible CLAs.

Level 0 and Level 1 Coaches do not have a CLA requirement. 

Click the link below to view CLAs from within the Portal.