Main Menu

All News Items
Fencing News
National Events
International Representation
HPP News
Athletes Commission News
Welcome to Fencing
About Fencing
Fencing, a basic guide
The Foil
The Epee
The Sabre
The AFF and its Members
The Australian Fencing Federation
AFF Organisational Structure
ACT Fencing Association
NSW Fencing Association
Queensland Fencing Association
Fencing South Australia
Fencing Victoria
Western Australia Fencing Association
AFF Life Members
High Performance Program
Australian Fencing Team Members
Australian Fencing Squad Members
HPP Plan & Annual Program
Manager and Coaches
Sponsor the Australian Fencing Team
Frequently Asked Questions
HPP Forms & Documents
Open Trophies
Cyclone Cup
Team Trophies
Big "O" Shield (WE)
Dunklings Shield (MF)
Eugene Kerezsy Cup (WS)
Hunyadi Janos Shield (MS)
M. O'Brien Shield (WF)
W.E. Elliott Shield (ME)
Fencers of Australia
Open Champions
Veteran Champions
Under 23 Champions
Junior (U20) Champions
Cadet (U17) Champions
Under15 Champions
Australian Biographies
National Calendar
National Events
International Representation
Equipment Requirements
Logo Requirements for Uniforms
Frequently Asked Questions
Competition Rules & Policies
Results of previous events not listed
Australian Fencing Tracksuits
Call for Nominations
Online Registration
Overseas Events
Accredited Coaches
Coaching Accreditation Information
How to become a Coach
Upcoming Coaches Courses
Coaching Forms
Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)
NIS - Coaches Information
Report a Coaching Location
How to become a Referee
Accredited Officials
Documents and Policies
All Documents and Policies
AFF Constitution
AFF Cadet and Junior Development Guidelines
AFF Insurance
AFF Selection Policy
AFT Documents
Member Protection Policy
Anti Doping Policy
Competition Rules & Policies
FIE License Applications
High Performance Program
AFF Fees and Charges
Announcements List
Subscribe to List
Announcements Archives
Search the Site
Archived News Items

Personal Sponsors

These organisations are directly Sponsoring a Fencer:
Click on the logo to see who..

Thankyou for your support of the Sport of Fencing in Australia.

Upcoming Events


Fri, 5th Dec 2014 - Tue, 9th Dec 2014
AFC Nationals


Thu, 18th Dec 2014 - Sun, 21st Dec 2014
AFT/AFS Summer Camp - AIS


Fri, 10th Apr 2015 - Sun, 12th Apr 2015
AFC 1 (DH McKenzie)


Sat, 6th Jun 2015 - Mon, 8th Jun 2015
AFC 2 (Robyn Chaplin)


Sat, 13th Jun 2015 - Sun, 14th Jun 2015
AFC Schools (Teams)

Keep up to date (RSS Feed)

Information about RSS Feeds can be found here.

This RSS feed will alert you when any article on the AusFencing website is updated. If you want to keep up to date with what is happening, it is recommended that you use this RSS feed.
(Click on the image below)


Like us and Follow us on the Official Australian Fencing Federation Facebook page.


M. O'Brien Shield


M. O'Brien Shield

Ladies Foil Team

Maitre d'Armes Michael O'Brien has had a long and distinguished career in Australian Fencing as both a fencer and coach.  He was national Sabre Champion in 1955 and was coach of the Australian Olympic Foil Team at the 1956 Melbourne Olympics.

The M. O'Brien Shield is awarded at the National Championships to the champion Women's Foil Team.  The name of the champion team is engraved on a plate fixed to the shield for that purpose.








2010 New South Wales "A" 2011
New South Wales "A" 2012
New South Wales "A"
2007 New South Wales "A" 2008 New South Wales "A" 2009 Queensland
2004 New South Wales "A" 2005 New South Wales "A" 2006 Queensland "A"
2001 New Zealand 2002 New Zealand 2003 New South Wales "A"
1998 New South Wales "A" 1999 New South Wales "A" 2000 Victoria
1995 New South Wales "A" 1996 New South Wales "A" 1997 New South Wales "A"
1992 South Australia 1993 Victoria 1994 New South Wales "A"
1989 Victoria 1990 Victoria 1991 Victoria
1986 South Australia 1987 Victoria 1988 Victoria
1983 Victoria 1984 Victoria 1985 Peoples Republic of China
1980 Victoria 1981 Victoria 1982 Victoria
1977 Victoria 1978 Victoria 1979 Victoria
1974 Victoria 1975 Victoria 1976 Victoria
1971 Victoria 1972 Queensland 1973 Victoria
1968 Victoria 1969 New South Wales 1970 Victoria
1965 Victoria 1966 New South Wales 1967 New Zealand
1962 Victoria 1963 New Zealand 1964 Victoria
1959 New Zealand 1960 Victoria 1961 Victoria