The AFF Commissions currently comprise the Athletes Commission, the Selection Commission, the High Performance Commission, the Tournament Management Commission and the Medical Commission.

The members of the Athletes Commission are elected for a four year term by the registered fencers who participate in the National Open Fencing Championships in an election year. The Athletes Commission member who receives the most votes is appointed to the AFF Board.

The members of the other Commissions are appointed by the Board for a term determined by the Board.